2023 DFL-Supercup

Appearance move to sidebar hide

2023 DFL-Supercup
German Supercup
Date12 August 2023 (2023-08-12)
VenueAllianz Arena, Munich
RefereeBastian Dankert (Rostock)

The 2023 DFL-Supercup was the 14th edition of the German super cup under the name DFL-Supercup, an annual football match contested by the winners of the previous season's Bundesliga and DFB-Pokal competitions. The match was played on 12 August 2023.

The match featured Bayern Munich, winners of the 2022–23 Bundesliga, and RB Leipzig, winners of the 2022–23 DFB-Pokal. It was a rematch of the 2022 edition, which Bayern won 5–3. Though usually hosted by the DFB-Pokal winners, the Deutsche Fußball Liga selected Bayern Munich to host the match at the Allianz Arena in Munich.

RB Leipzig won the match 3–0 for their first DFL-Supercup title.


In the following table, matches until 1996 were in the DFB-Supercup era, since 2010 were in the DFL-Supercup era.

Team Qualification Previous appearances (bold indicates winners)
Bayern MunichTH 2022–23 Bundesliga champions 16 (1987, 1989, 1990, 1994, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022)
RB Leipzig 2022–23 DFB-Pokal winners 1 (2022)



Dani Olmo put RB Leipzig into the lead after three minutes, with a low finish into the bottom right-hand corner of the net. Bayern Munich had a chance at the other end in the 10th minute after Serge Gnabry was put through on goal by Joshua Kimmich, but his effort was saved comfortably by Janis Blaswich. In the 15th minute, Gnabry came forward again for Bayern and played a ball across to Mathys Tel who forced a strong save from Blaswich. Eight minutes later, Gnabry and Tel combined again with Gnabry playing another ball across to Tel only for him to strike the ball too high over the goal. In the 44th minute, Leipzig doubled their lead through another goal from Olmo after he managed to evade defender Matthijs de Ligt before being left one-on-one with Sven Ulreich and slot the ball under the goalkeeper and into the net to make it 2–0 at halftime. As the second half progressed, Bayern continued to press for a goal with a wide effort from Leroy Sané, a save from Blaswich against Tel, and a missed opportunity from Jamal Musiala. Leipzig were awarded a penalty by referee Bastian Dankert in the 66th minute after defender Noussair Mazraoui appeared to have struck the ball with his hand inside the penalty area. Olmo scored the penalty down the bottom left-hand corner of the net to complete his hat-trick and make it 3–0. Benjamin Šeško nearly made it four in the 88th minute after being put through on goal by Fábio Carvalho, but his resulting effort was tipped over by Ulreich. The match concluded as Leipzig won the Supercup with a 3–0 victory.


12 August 2023 (2023-08-12)20:45 CEST
Bayern Munich0–3RB Leipzig
Allianz Arena, MunichAttendance: 75,000Referee: Bastian Dankert (Rostock)
Bayern Munich RB Leipzig
GK 26 Germany Sven Ulreich
RB 5 France Benjamin Pavard Yellow card 14' downward-facing red arrow 46'
CB 2 France Dayot Upamecano Yellow card 34'
CB 4 Netherlands Matthijs de Ligt downward-facing red arrow 46'
LB 19 Canada Alphonso Davies
CM 27 Austria Konrad Laimer downward-facing red arrow 46'
CM 6 Germany Joshua Kimmich (c) downward-facing red arrow 78'
RW 10 Germany Leroy Sané
AM 42 Germany Jamal Musiala
LW 7 Germany Serge Gnabry
CF 39 France Mathys Tel downward-facing red arrow 63'
GK 43 Germany Tom Ritzy Hülsmann
DF 3 South Korea Kim Min-jae upward-facing green arrow 46'
DF 40 Morocco Noussair Mazraoui upward-facing green arrow 46'
DF 41 Germany Frans Krätzig
MF 8 Germany Leon Goretzka upward-facing green arrow 78'
MF 38 Netherlands Ryan Gravenberch
MF 45 Germany Aleksandar Pavlović
FW 9 England Harry Kane upward-facing green arrow 63'
FW 11 France Kingsley Coman upward-facing green arrow 46'
Germany Thomas Tuchel
GK 21 Germany Janis Blaswich
RB 39 Germany Benjamin Henrichs downward-facing red arrow 85'
CB 2 France Mohamed Simakan
CB 4 Hungary Willi Orbán (c)
LB 22 Germany David Raum
CM 13 Austria Nicolas Seiwald
CM 24 Austria Xaver Schlager
RW 20 Netherlands Xavi Simons downward-facing red arrow 78'
LW 7 Spain Dani Olmo Yellow card 71' downward-facing red arrow 78'
CF 11 Germany Timo Werner downward-facing red arrow 64'
CF 17 Belgium Loïs Openda downward-facing red arrow 64'
GK 25 Germany Leopold Zingerle
DF 16 Germany Lukas Klostermann upward-facing green arrow 85'
DF 23 France Castello Lukeba
MF 10 Sweden Emil Forsberg upward-facing green arrow 78'
MF 18 Portugal Fábio Carvalho upward-facing green arrow 78'
MF 38 Spain Hugo Novoa
MF 44 Slovenia Kevin Kampl
FW 30 Slovenia Benjamin Šeško upward-facing green arrow 64'
FW 9 Denmark Yussuf Poulsen upward-facing green arrow 64'
Germany Marco Rose

Assistant referees:
René Rohde (Rostock)
Marcel Unger (Hamburg)
Fourth official:
Tobias Reichel (Stuttgart)
Video assistant referee:
Tobias Welz (Wiesbaden)
Assistant video assistant referee:
Thorsten Schiffner (Konstanz)

Match rules

  • 90 minutes.
  • Penalty shoot-out if scores level.
  • Nine named substitutes, of which up to five may be used.

See also


  1. ^ a b c d e "Supercup: Dankert pfeift Bayern vs. Leipzig" . DFB.de (in German). German Football Association. 10 August 2023. Retrieved 10 August 2023.
  2. ^ "Rahmenterminkalender für die Saison 2023/24: Bundesliga-Auftakt am 18. August 2023 – 2. Bundesliga startet am 28. Juli 2023" . DFL.de (in German). Deutsche Fußball Liga. 9 December 2022. Retrieved 12 March 2023.
  3. ^ "Supercup 2023 am 12. August in München" . DFL.de (in German). Deutsche Fußball Liga. 9 June 2023. Retrieved 15 June 2023.
  4. ^ a b "RB Leipzig stun Bayern Munich to win Supercup and spoil Harry Kane's debut". Guardian. 12 August 2023. Retrieved 16 August 2023.
  5. ^ "Harry Kane's Bayern Munich debut spoiled by Super Cup loss". ESPN. 12 August 2023. Retrieved 16 August 2023.
  6. ^ "Harry Kane makes Bayern Munich debut in German Super Cup defeat by RB Leipzig". BBC Sport. 12 August 2023. Retrieved 18 August 2023.
  7. ^ "Spielordnung (SpOL)" (PDF). DFL.de (in German). Deutsche Fußball Liga. 16 May 2020. p. 3. Archived (PDF) from the original on 15 June 2021. Retrieved 15 June 2020.

External links