ISO/IEC 15288

The ISO/IEC 15288 Systems and software engineering — System life cycle processes is a technical standard in systems engineering which covers processes and lifecycle stages, developed by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC). Planning for the ISO/IEC 15288:2002(E) standard started in 1994 when the need for a common systems engineering process framework was recognized.

ISO/IEC/IEEE 15288 is managed by ISO/IEC JTC1/SC7, which is the committee responsible for developing standards in the area of Software and Systems Engineering. ISO/IEC/IEEE 15288 is part of the SC 7 Integrated set of Standards, and other standards in this domain include:


The previously accepted standard MIL STD 499A (1974) was cancelled after a memo from the United States Secretary of Defense (SECDEF) prohibited the use of most U.S. Military Standards without a waiver (this memo was rescinded in 2005). The first edition was issued on 1 November 2002. Stuart Arnold was the editor and Harold Lawson was the architect of the standard. In 2004 this standard was adopted by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers as IEEE 15288. ISO/IEC 15288 was updated in 2008, then again (as a joint publication with IEEE) in 2015 and 2023.


The standard defines thirty processes grouped into four categories:

The standard defines two agreement processes:

The standard defines six organizational project-enabling processes:

The standard defines eight technical management processes:

The standard defines fourteen technical processes:

Each process is defined by a purpose, outcomes and activities. Activities are further divided into tasks.

See also


  1. ^ "International Council on Systems Engineering Website". INCOSE. Archived from the original on 26 May 2022. Retrieved 2024-04-23.
  2. ^ ISO/IEC/IEEE 15288:2015 Systems and software engineering -- System life cycle processes